Current: My Life as an Intern

I am interning this summer at both the Eugene Symphony and the Oregon Bach Festival.  About 6 months ago I decided that I wanted to stay in Oregon this summer.  I have not spent more than a month in Oregon, my hometown, in over 3 years.  I was born and raised in Salem, Oregon until I reached 16 years of age.  That year, I moved to Northern Michigan all by myself to attend Interlochen Arts Academy, a prestigious arts boarding high school.  I was there for two years and spent only my winter breaks at home.  I spent my summers at various music festivals, sometimes more than one, to gain experience and expertise for my college application process.  Now that I am in college, I still only spend 2 weeks during the winter visiting my family, but I decided to gain experience and knowledge this summer in Oregon so I can plan what I want to do with my future and who I want to become.

I was ecstatic to find out that I was offered positions at these two fabulous organizations.  Both of these organizations are non-profit and music related.  At the Eugene Symphony I help with the marketing projects at the Oregon Bach Festival I help with the donor relations aspect of the Festival.  I started both of these internships in early May and I have been devoting at least 6 hours to each internship, each week.

The Oregon Bach Festival is an organization that has interested me for a long time.  This organization is one-of-a-kind and has earned a grammy award!  Their program, during the summer, is about 3 weeks long and encompasses more than 60 events.  It’s a wonderfully run organization and I love working with all the people there! I’ve learned how to use InDesign, Microsoft Excel, countless online donor databases and I’ve had a look into the grant writing process.  As their program gets moving I will be required to be more than a part-time intern and devote most of my time to this organization.  I am so excited to see what the next month and a half has in store for me here!

At the Eugene Symphony I get to work with the marketing director, Jessika Kaiser.  Here, I am working on revamping and redesigning their program book.  Here are some ideas that I have designed so far:

Screen shot 2013-05-29 at 3.58.31 PM Screen shot 2013-05-29 at 4.01.07 PM Screen shot 2013-05-29 at 4.02.32 PM Screen shot 2013-05-29 at 4.03.39 PM

These are just ideas for the 4 different program books that are to be designed and given to patrons.  While I am the first to admit that I am not a graphic designer, I do really enjoy this kind of creative design and I am enjoying helping Jessika to make the Symphony’s layouts new and modern.

Summer 2013 has been off to an amazing start and I am excited to see what the next few weeks will bring! I will be interning until July 15th; I leave then to go to Domaine Forget music festival in Quebec, Canada!

Leave a Reply

